Friday, November 30, 2018

Phew

Sigh it all out
That's your worry leaving you after all
You early goodbyes
You regrets and would have beens
Now you get to just be

1160

Thursday, November 29, 2018

Moms Demand Action

You say it's your right
Some amendment, you say
What about mine though?
First, is better than most?

1159

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Hello, Again

Can't say I'm happy you're back
Especially when you stem from there
And make it so hard to move ahead

1158

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Reactive

Hi Body,

When you decide you make sense
It might all be too late
Maybe I'll understand a little
Before that happens?

Love,
Me

1157

Monday, November 26, 2018

What About My Time?

Your goals your fears
Your hurdles your hiccups
Your dreams your solitude
Your body your time
What about mine?

1156

Your first of many

So many firsts
In your little life
I can't wait to see
Many many more come your way

1155

Saturday, November 24, 2018

Playful

A little side of you
Only comes out
When your little one here
Comes out

1154

Friday, November 23, 2018

What's Going On Down There?

I don't get it
I think I know
And then I feel tricked by
You

1153

Naan(i)

Your next word had to be
Some version of Nani
And it's so fun to see how you can reach up and
Find all the stars we thought you had left
Behind

1152

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Manly

I wish I could tell you
How I don't understand what that word means
How hard I've worked to forget what it meant

1151

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Going Home

When you go home today
Will you remember to pack
Your new found dignity?
It will help you
Stay on your feet
And don't forget
All the shit you are leaving behind
Don't come back for it
It's better off without you
And you, of it

1150

Monday, November 19, 2018

A New Man

So
You're a new man today
I see
Through you
Even if you've
Cut out bits of you
Maybe you're hoping
They cut out all the bad parts
Along with it?

1149

Sunday, November 18, 2018

Saturday, November 17, 2018

Pressure

Can't tell where exactly it is
Or how long it will decide to stay
I know it's pushing me up and down
This and that way
I need it to stop
So I can take a moment's breath
And figure out what to do next

1147

Friday, November 16, 2018

Tough Times

What really brings out all
If the perfect metaphors
And comparisons between my insides
And that of a solid metal anchor
Is times like these

1146

Thursday, November 15, 2018

What Are You?

I can't tell
And maybe I could
If I knew where you were coming from
Your source eludes me
Making it impossible to know
How to get rid of you

1145

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Stand Up, Stand Tall

My legs ache under my weight
But I know
I have little choice
But to walk on

1144

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Dunked

Come on already body
I get it
I need to change anything
I'm trying
But you gotta with with me here

1143

Monday, November 12, 2018

Slam

Dunked like a little cookie
In a large cup of chai
And all for what?
A soggy piece of existence
Served with a side of endings

1142

Sunday, November 11, 2018

I Saw You Cry

You said sorry
Sorry for being emotional
But it's what I needed you
To feel
All these years
Without the tears
Without all the fear

1141

Saturday, November 10, 2018

What A Day

Information giving
Farming to create
Planning newness
Burying old
Carving for tomorrow

1140

Friday, November 9, 2018

Mamma

My dear Manzil,

Today, after much deliberation
And in much desperation
You said, Mamma

You might not remember
Your very first word
Was mamma

At seven lovely months
You decided to say nothing but
And now finally you found it again

Yours, always,
Mamma

1139

Almost There

I can see it
Shining, calling me to it
Even though I've never run a race
I could tell
It was where
It's always been

1138

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Light

I feel light
And lit
And all of this light
Carving its way through the darkness

1137

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Blue

Don't feel it
Even though I do
Can't wait for more of it
Will it come through?

1136

Monday, November 5, 2018

Go Away

I didn't invite you
And I certainly don't want
You here
So why do you insist on returning
So punctually every month?

1135

Sunday, November 4, 2018

Boat sounds like...

Today, I turned in my ballot
For the first time in person
Next time I vote
I hope it'll be in person
At my polling station
Next time,
I hope it works out

1134

Saturday, November 3, 2018

Eggshells

I wish I could tell you
That pins and needles are as sharp as
Eggshells
Which may seem so innocuous
But can still cut through
Till all of you bleeds

1133

Friday, November 2, 2018

Whine

My heart of course hurts
My ears too
But really it's my brain
More than anything
That needs kindness

1132

Thursday, November 1, 2018